Back to the grind

In my last post I was all pumped up and high on life, well I still am. Every day I’m excited for what awaits and I’m excited for where I’m going with my life.

As I said, I’m allowing my fear to define me I’m taking it and using it as fire under my ass to accomplish what I desire most. I’m starting to take more chances and create new opportunities for myself and my life. I’m learning every day to take a step further, and then a few steps, a hop, a jump, and finally a leap of faith. I know everything will be ok in the end even if it doesn’t always feel ok at the moment. Things in life have a tendency of seeming much worse than they actually are. I know I tend to exacerbate situations into the worst possible scenarios when in reality… it’s not that bad.

d4f6cf40644011e2a03b22000a1f92d6_7

At the end of the day, the most important thing is that you love yourself.

I’m GOING AFTER MY DREAMS.

I love sport, competition, and the natural high from it. For the majority of my life I’ve been involved in some type of sport. It just feels right to me. Competitive jump rope, soccer, track, Spartan racing, gymnastics, you name it. Ok well basketball was never really my thing. I could blame being 5 foot tall, but that’d just be lying and I don’t do that. Besides I’m positive there are plenty of 5 foot tall basketball players out there that totally annihilate the game… instead I’m going with it wasn’t a priority for me.

After the Death Race I took a decent break. Honestly, I feel off the face of the Earth in terms of the gym and Spartan Race. I had double stress fractured my left tibia and then relapsed into my eating disorder. Call it what you will but I over-trained and was stressed. I wasn’t able to better handle myself. I was lost.

Lost with what I wanted to do with my life.

During the healing process I began to develop and itch for competition. It’s still with me. The drive behind putting everything on the table and giving it all you’ve got, this is what keeps me going. Sport keeps me sane, focused, and full of life. After the Spartan VT Beast I didn’t finish another event… not the Peak Ultra, Ruck to Remember, or the Death Race. Something was missing. Was it laziness? no. Lack of experience? no. Lack of health? yes. Lack of taking care of my body? yes. Actually it’s almost event the very opposite of that. I was taking care of my body. I chose to not finish those events because doing so would be putting my health in critical danger – to be honest I shouldn’t have even signed up for any of them, but I’m stubborn. For the first time in my life I began to truly see I needed to take care of my body.

I miss unleashing my inner super-hero. Sound ridiculous? Insane? Sorry I’m not sorry.

I miss putting everything on the table and seeing what I’m made of.

I’m getting back in the swing of things. Back to where I feel that I’m supposed to be in my life, and doing what I’m meant to be doing. I’m back to the grind, focused as ever and working towards what I desire most. I’m ready to see what I’m made of. I’m declaring my inner super-hero be unleashed and able to rage.

I’m a full time student, I have two jobs, just getting into the world of Crossfit (and loving every.single.second), and full heartedly working on myself and my recovery. I’m stoked about what is to come and where I’m going with my life. Take it or leave it but I believe when we take care of our bodies they begin to do things we never thought possible.

 

Enjoy your day and make the best of it.

7 thoughts on “Back to the grind

  1. I like to hear this attitude and this emotion behind it from you. Just remember without your health you have nothing, even as busy as you can be you will have nothing without taking care of you. Oh and hey Iove hearing from you in these posts, miss ya like whoa over here

  2. Good luck with CrossFit, yeah it does seem like you would like it. I liked it okay, but I would rather run and just do CrossFit maybe once a week or something as cross training.

    You don’t have to participate in competitions or runs or finish them in order to be an important person though. At the risk of sounding a little like Barney here… you’re a special person just because you’re you. No award, participation, place, etc is going to change that or change your self-worth or how you think about yourself. Yes, PRs, times, distances, etc are great but really it does not last. As soon as you’re done it’s almost like you have to chase after something else. So… just do what you love and love yourself :). If you love CrossFit, go for it :).

  3. SO. FREAKING. MOTIVATING. 😀 I literally want to go out in the street and start dancing like a wild baboon with excitement for you!! Hearing that passion and fire in your words is contagious–I love it! I can’t wait to see how you progress with Crossfit, I bet you’re one badass mofo!

  4. Yep, things can often seem so daunting, when in the end, they usually end up a-okay! I can 100% relate to you on that. Sometimes I think about how much I have to do for school, how I still have to find an internship, and blah blah blah. I always have to remember to take life one day at a time!

    And yes to taking care of our bodies so they can do AMAZING things! SO true.

  5. Pingback: Life lately « Do Work n' Destroy

Leave a Reply

