NEDA: raise awareness

Hi guys! This week is a week that comes around once a year, and is one I feel inclined to post about. More specifically, it is very near and dear to my heart.

February 24th-March 2nd is National Eating Disorder Awareness Week.

This year marks the 8 year mark of my eating disorder. This is not something I am proud of, I am however proud of how far I have come with it and how open I am able to be with it. Quite honestly at this point my ultimate goal is to continue my recovery while also inspiring others to do the same.

I am working on developing my story to share with others, at this time it’s not finished but I would like to share a few excerpts with you all.

“I’ve been alive for nineteen years, eight of which I have dealt with an eating disorder. At age eleven, the choice was made in whatever place my mind was in, I stopped living MY life. The scary part is that I do not remember much of my life before hand. I recall bits and pieces, and with those I’ve been working to sew back together a day in my childhood. I want to remember those days. I want to feel again.”

momm

“It is primarily an interpersonal struggle. However, there are many external factors that come into play in terms of triggers, treatment, and recovery. I’ve always thought of it as having a second conscious. One that wants me to thrive and one that want’s me to suffer. It is a dangerous and confusing way to live, everything contradicts itself. “

dad

If I do say so myself, I had a killer hairdo.

If your currently struggling know that you are not alone in this battle. I am here for you. You family and friends are there for you. There are plenty of resources available to help you on your journey to and during recovery. You are worth it. You are beautiful. Recovery is beautiful.

88772848083f11e28bc01231380f28ef_7

 

Keep on keepin’ on

-S

4 thoughts on “NEDA: raise awareness

Leave a Reply

