A month of catching up

So it’s been a while to say the least. I’ve received a few emails asking what’s up. Honestly, I’ve been living my life. I’ve been in my treatment program and doing the whole 17 hours of therapy a week thing. I just had finals last week. I’ve been working. I’ve been putting Sarah first.

Without further ado, HIIIIII! I miss this blog, my readers, and connecting!

It’s been a crazy month the end of April and now well into May. First off can I just make the ever so obnoxious comment of… the weather is beautiful. I know I know the weather is discussed waaaay to much, but I’m just being honest, it’s stinkin gorgeous outside. Sunny days make me swoon.

yup

I finished my IOP (intensive out-patient) program last Thursday. This wasn’t entirely my choice as my lovely insurance company cut me off from any more time at the program. Do you pick up my sarcasm? Don’t even get me started but I will say I am SO EXREMELY THANKFUL for the time I was allowed and for being given the opportunity to attend such a program. My time there was taken very seriously and I learned a lot about myself, my goals, and my recovery. I made new friendships which I truly believe will last a lifetime. I gained the help of a nutritionist. Most importantly I’m well on my way to learning how to respect myself.

The spring semester is over! Hallelujah! Finals week is done and I managed to pull off all A’s this semester. I wouldn’t typically mention grades but honestly I’m proud of this because with working and program I wasn’t even sure if I could stay enrolled as a full time student also. This time made me feel like I was loosing my mind most days. Well worth it though, well worth it.

I received an acceptance letter to UNH for Fall 2013. However, I also received the financial aid package and will not be attending. Sadly it costs more to go to UNH as an in-state student than it will for me to pack up my bags and move to attend an out of state university. More on this later. But I will not so kindly say… wtf New Hampshire.

I’ve attempted to maintain a social life.

JL

Meet Jordan. Bestieboo.

I’m not currently training but I do hope to get back into the swing of things soon. I truly love competition. It is a huge part of who I am but this is made extremely complicated by the fact I have an eating disorder. For right now I’m sticking to yoga, stretching, and meditation.

Food wise… well I’m feeling good. No paleo. No primal. No vegan. No zone. None of the labels. Just fueling my body, trying to listen to what it needs for me to gain back my health, and working to rid myself of the obsessions. I’ve tried a bunch of new to me foods and combinations which I’ve also made sure to rave about on instagram, which please do note I’m completely obsessed with. I am working with a nutritionist for the first time and loving it. I mean “loving” by having the support specifically around the food piece and also knowing she’s got my butt covered.

mmm

Turkey, marinara, quinoa, veggies, guacamole. Interesting yet super tasty combination. Whole Food’s winning.

That’s my ever so exciting update Winking smile I can’t wait to post more and hear about all of your updates for me!!!

11 thoughts on “A month of catching up

  1. It’s so good to see you back in the blog world! I love this update. I’m glad things are going well and girl, you are SO allowed to be proud of your grades. You’re a superstar!

  2. Hey there long lost stranger. insurance is a butt hole and did that far too often to so many people in the program. especially when they weren’t ready. but it sounds like it was time for you to move on. I hope you continue in your recovery, I will keep telling you over and over that you deserve it more than anything. fight hard lady. its a fight that is way better than any competition out there

    • Insurance is such a butt hole. Ugh. I digress. Totally continuing on my recovery and listening to my body and heart rather than Ed’s mind. I like what you say “it’s a fight that is way better than any competition out there.” Ditto.

  3. Glad to see an update, I was thinking of you the other day and hoping you were well. Very sorry you were cut off from IOP by the insurance, but at least you were there for a bit, have a nutritionist, and seem to be doing well. So hopefully it helped. I don’t blame you to leave the state to go to another college if it’s cheaper, plus if you get a scholarship some schools will waive out of state fees as well (and some private colleges there is no difference in in-state and out-of-state). Good luck with the decisions and everything else and keep us posted!

    • Awh, you’re so sweet Amy ♥ Yes there are so many positive I’m taking away and just having the chance to have the opportunity to be a part of the program makes me thankful. Private colleges also typically offer WAY more in aid because they have the money to give.

  4. I am so jazzed you are doing well!! Taking the time to focus on yourself is SO essential! I am sorta kinda doing that right now too with the occasional post thrown in there haha. Also your “no labeling” food eating habits are PERFECT! Keep going girrrrl!

    • Awh thank you lady, your so sweet! It really is SOOO essential, so much more than most people seem to recognize. Self reflection and maintenance are key’s to health. 🙂

    • Thank you, Brittany! Girl I’m glad we found each other’s blogs/IG accounts, your an inspiration. Your words regarding recovery are so sweet and mean a lot to me 🙂 Keep on keepin’ on!

  5. Pingback: Little things I’ve been loving | Do Work n' Destroy

Leave a Reply

