Catching up

Hey there! Clearly I fell off the blogging bandwagon, and fell off hard. It’s been about a month since I last posted and while I’ve been meaning to get back life just keeps on happening. As much as I’d love to post daily, or even bi-daily I just can’t make that commitment and also keep my sanity right now. Some people can and that’s great, if you’re one of those people major props to you. For right now I’m setting a goal of two posts a week, sometimes three. Hopefully three 🙂

What have I been up to as of late? Let’s see… crossfit, consuming absurd amounts of coffee (although I have cut it back a lot), working, yoga, catching up with friends over the aforementioned beverage of choice, and the full time job that is recovery.

Crossfit has been awesome. I never thought I would find myself really only doing crossfit as my workout regimen. As much as I love obstacle course racing, CF is doing it for me right now. Although I told my coach yesterday I do want to get back to competing in races once my body is physically ready for that training load. Speaking of races, I’ve been reminiscing back to the 2012 Death Race and all the training I put into that.

dr

2012 DR “bib”. When racers were told to sew our race #’s onto our shirts. Duct tape and pink thread, how I do.

With crossfit my lifts have been increasing for the most part. Lots of bulgarian split squats, deadlifts, 1-arm rows, pull ups, squats. I’ve also been working on bench and farmers carries with my own gym time. While I’m still a ways from where I was and far from where I’d like to be that isn’t deterring me. I’m keeping focused and keeping both eyes on the ultimate goal.

Things have been much easier without school work to worry about for the summer. Classes start back up September 3rd and while I’m super excited to get back learning I’m also embracing having more free time to really focus on myself and what I want to be doing with my life. I mean sure education is important to me and I intend to go far with mine but I have other aspects to my life that have the same importance (if not more). It’s no secret my passion is fitness and competition. With being “off the playing field” for about a year now I am becoming more and more antsy to get back and kick some ass. Mainly just get back, ass kicking comes later.

The lack of school has also allowed for me to get in more friend time. Last weekend I met with a lovely lady for coffee, breakfast, and other shenanigans 🙂

3e1b0682ebee11e2a50222000a1fb870_7

Downtown. My liquids of choice: coffee and water. Water in my bottle from Taylor. Thanks girl.

933e113ee29511e281d622000a1f975c_7

Along with coffee I’ve been fueling with handfuls of this stuff. Tasty.

If you’ve never tried the Enjoy Life trail mix I highly suggest it. It’s fairly allergy friendly for those of us who need it but whether or no you have an allergy it’s good. Really good. I blame the fact it contains chocolate chips. Chocolate makes everything better. Everything.

Well, I think that is enough random mumbo jumble for today. I hope you’re all doing great and enjoying summer! 🙂

What have you been doing workout wise lately?

Ever tried the Seed & fruit trail mix? Or any Enjoy Life product?

Who else is on school break and embracing every.single.moment?

3 thoughts on “Catching up

  1. I’m on school break forever, haha. But, I really enjoyed summer when I had it. I still do and things slow down a bit but it’s not the same after college. You deserve the break though and I hope you enjoy it! I’m glad CrossFit is going well and hopefully you can do some sort of race or competition soon, even if you start small and work your way back up, I know you’ll want to get back to it and hopefully in a more positive and safer way than before when you were struggling. Great job on increasing your lifts too :).

  2. I love to hear you have more free time and have been able to do what you love – crossfit. I love that mix, I haven’t bought it in ages but I had it once and really liked it. Now all I need is a picture of your smiling face to ice the cake on this post

  3. Workout wise…. I’ve been doing nothing really because I had my wisdom teeth out and then had some mega struggles after that! It’s actually been really nice to rest, though!

    I’m so glad you’ve been able to hang out with friends and catch up over COFFEE!! I agree… I love learning, but it’s amazing to have time off of school!

Leave a Reply

